Childlike Wonders

If you haven’t grasped the concept of my blog, it’s not necessarily your typical blog. Rather, it’s a memoir of my short yet astounding life up to this point. I believe that eighteen represents the turning point in an individual’s life because it is the age recognized by society as the beginning of adulthood. However, maturity isn’t defined by age; it is defined by the mindset and morals of an individual. This post, ironically, is meant to expound upon the pure opposite of maturity: the fantasy world that is yielded from my imagination and my fascinations I have had since my younger and more vulnerable years. 

As I was driving to Beaufort, South Carolina, taking my usual route, I was taken aback by the serenity of my favorite road (currently) in all of America: Old Sheldon Church Road. On this historic road is the ruins of Old Sheldon Church, a landmark not only in the national registry, but for numerous travelers who know the backroads. This place will always captivate my imagination because you can’t help but imagine how magnificent this church was at the time of its inception, and how wonderfully disheveled it is at the moment. The road itself has a Byronic-esque personality to it: you are swallowed by a brooding tunnel of trees, but you can’t help but love every second of it. Although there are undoubtedly more roads with greater potential, beauty, and history, Old Sheldon has a special place in my heart, along with the low country metropolis of Beaufort.



The distorted reality that the photo above depicts reminds me of my second childlike wonder: facades. Let’s face it- we all put on a facade of someone who we aren’t at some point in our lives. You might be thinking, “How could he possibly see this as a childlike wonder?” Well, as an individual who didn’t love himself for the first seventeen years of his life, I was always inclined to be a new individual, whether it be physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually. Yet, in the midst of all the turmoil, I couldn’t help but look into the eyes of others and wonder if they were going through the same thing I was going through. And normally, I was met with a genuine individual, or so I thought. I wasn’t the only person who could pull off a facade for roughly three years. Our jealousies and insecurities are what makes us human undoubtedly, but what we fail to grasp (at least in my case) was that I was wonderfully and fearfully made by the Creator of the universe. We all were, are, and will continue to be as long as we allow ourselves to be lead by Him. Although this is a reflection on my childhood wonders, I know that aspect of life will continue to perplex me for years to come because of how simple the solution is and how well avoided it is in modern society.

The third and final childlike wonder (at least for the sake of the post) is my fascination with the Sun. If you’ve ever seen a sunrise, set, or its rays graze over a large and tall (cumulonimbus cloud to be exact), then you grasp why ancient societies would treat it as a religious symbol. As I would ride to pre-k with my father every morning, I would stare out of the window and think to myself, “Wow, I can’t believe the Sun is following me, shining down on me, as if I am the center of the universe.” Yes, I really and truly believed at one point in time that I was the center of the universe. Kinda hard to believe coming from a rambunctious only child isn’t it? Ever since those days, I have truly been enchanted by the potential of the sun, at least in a aesthetically pleasing kind of way. 


I have a fair amount of other wonders that have always bewildered me, but those are for a later date. As my memoir continues, I feel as though each topic will grow more distant from your typical surface conversation to more convoluted topics that I have dealt with throughout my life. You’re in for quite the journey. 

WHH

Leave a Reply

