A Product of My Environment

I have succumbed to procuring a blog for myself and to make my life, philosophies, and desires known to society. However, this wasn’t a spur of the moment decision; this was a premeditated decision I made in regards to beginning a new chapter in my life. You, whoever reads this post, will know me well by the end of my reflections, but you will never encapsulate me. Life itself is a mysterious metaphor, and for those willing to affix their eyes on the broad spectrum instead of the narrow pathways that the Lord gives us- congratulations -you’re one of the few.

My name is William Henry Hawkins, only child, yet brother to numerous amounts of God’s children around the world. I was born and raised in Augusta, Georgia; a product of the Richmond County School System; and future student of Georgia College in Milledgeville, Georgia. My early life was tumultuously tremendous, oxymoronic I know, but it was truly a blessing in hindsight. I was raised by two wonderful parents who would sacrifice their worlds to see mine prosper, yet I was also raised by my environment throughout my primary education days. I have only been to two schools in my life: Lake Forest Hills and Davidson Fine Arts.

Lake Forest Hills, the simply elegant brick building only a few blocks from my house, obviously taught me the essential building blocks to further my education as I gradually progressed through each grade level, but it also gave me a small glimpse on the decline of my beloved country. In hindsight, I realize that the children there probably had terrible home lives and were also a product of their environment, but it also worries me that change never occurred to them. The fact that their lives were subpar and their desire to improve wasn’t there disturbed me. However, I grew indifferent to the peers at Lake Forest, and eagerly awaited the Davidson career ahead of me. Escaping my zoned school meant I could also escape the decline of my generation. Or at least delay it.

As you can see by the sticker, Davidson is a top notch school in the eyes of the United States education department and various publications around the country. Joining this culture and intimidating atmosphere was, quite frankly, a breeze. Unfortunately, I never was fully behind the concept of fine arts. It’s not that I don’t support it, it’s just that they weren’t for me. Of course, I will always appreciate every facet of the arts and hopefully make contributions in the future to continue the tradition and excellence Davidson builds itself around, but I don’t envision myself playing the saxophone for a living. Aside from the arts, the deeper side of Davidson lies within it’s students. The atmosphere and liberal values upheld create a tolerance rivaled by more progressive schools throughout the country, but there’s always a small percentage to aggravate the masses. The philosophies I learned at Davidson have shaped my societal views for life and I appreciate the fact that I can go through life knowing that each individual was handcrafted by the Lord, regardless of gender, sexuality, race, or ethnicity. I graduated from Davidson in May 25th, and begin at Georgia College on August 17th.

In the grand scheme of life, my schooling has made me recognize that I am a bright individual, but in a non-bragging way, I already knew that. I’d like to think I am wise beyond my years, especially when your pre-k teacher calls you grandpa at the age of three.

With all that being said, that brings me to where I am currently- a fresh eighteen year old with the world in front of him. Since I turned eighteen nine days ago, I have sang the national anthem at a Houston Astros game with my church choir, received my Eagle Scout award, and been baptized. You could say that my life is fantastic, however, I’d rather go on record and state that I am blessed beyond belief. As my first post comes to a close, I’d like to thank you for taking the time to read one aspect of my background, and hopefully you can read more aspects in the future.
WHH

Leave a comment